Above: BWS design for The Studio logo (1975)
Move your cursor over the four corners of the art above,
and click each active area to see details of the art.

THE STUDIO (1975 - 1979)

In early 1975 BWS and three other young artists, Michael Wm. Kaluta, Jeffrey Jones and Bernie Wrightson, decided to seek out a studio space to share in Manhattan. Each of the four had become innovative stars in the field of comics, Windsor-Smith with Conan, Wrightson with Swamp Thing, Kaluta with The Shadow, and Jones, in more alternative comics circles, with Idyl. They also had in common a compelling desire to explore avenues of expression beyond graphic narrative, including painting and illustration.

Above: Morgana (1979)